Fulton County Logo
Contact the County
Government banner

Fulton County Vice-Chair Emma I. Darnell to Host District 5 Town Hall Meeting on Anti-Fulton Legislation Restricting the Voting Rights of Minority Residents | Print |

 Vice-Chair Emma I. Darnell, Fulton County Board of Commissioners, District 5, will host a town hall meeting for residents of District 5 centered on the “North Fulton Redistricting Plan” now before the Georgia General Assembly that changes the governance structure of Fulton County from five (5) district seats and two At-large seats to three majority districts in the North and three minority districts in the South and one at large (Chairman).


The meeting will take place on Sunday, February 17, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. at the Harriett G. Darnell Senior Multi-Purpose Facility, 677 Fairburn Road, N.W., Atlanta, Georgia 30331.

Specifically the Plan:

• Abolishes District 5 (Darnell) and District 7 (Edwards)
• Creates new “District 6” that places Commissioners Emma I. Darnell and William “Bill” Edwards in this district
• Abolishes District 2 (At-large) now held by Commissioner Robert “Robb” Pitts
• Creates a new north Fulton district
• Changes current District 6 (Commissioner Garner) impacting minority residents in the district



Translate This Page

Fulton County BOC Public Notices
One Fulton Blog
Anti bullying in the workplace banner